2016 · Blog Tour · Book review

Time for a Short Story by Julia Roberts *Blog Tour & Review*

Blog Tour.jpg

Book Description: Eloise is still coming to terms with the death of her mother two years previously when she takes a job as a waitress in a tearoom while she is home from university to spend the summer in Guernsey. There she meets regular customer, Josephine, whose hobby is writing short stories.
English student, Eloise, offers to read some of the stories and is surprised by how good they are. She organises a special ninetieth birthday treat for Josephine but when the elderly lady doesn’t show up for her usual Wednesday morning elevenses, Eloise gets a feeling that something is terribly wrong.
Where is Josephine? And will she ever find out about Eloise’s extraordinary act of kindness?

Publication Date ~ September 12th 2016

Published By ~ Ripped Ltd

My thoughts:  I’ve never really read many short stories before so when I got the chance to read this I thought I’d give it a go and I’m so pleased I did.

Time for a Short Story took me roughly half an hour to read, and it’s a fabulous little read.

I loved the setting, Primrose Pantry where Eloise has gone to work for the summer. My mouth was watering at the descriptions of the wonderful cakes and scones June the owner makes. I could almost taste them.

 It’s here that Eloise befriends Josephine, an elderly lady and their friendship blossoms which was so heart warming. Josephine is a wonderful character at the age of 89, I really hope I’m like her at that age. And what made it even more special is that in the acknowledgements, Julia Roberts has dedicated this to her own mum Josephine, aged 89.

All the characters are really well formed for a short story and you instantly get a feel for each of them. Often when you read a full length novel it takes a while to get a feel for the characters but Julia Roberts has done a fantastic job of making you feel like you know the characters straight away.

I was quite blown away by how much was packed into this story. It’s so cleverly written and heartfelt it captivates from the first page. I highly recommend this short story, it would be fab for a lunch break or commute or if you’re like me you could enjoy it as a bedtime story.

Many thanks go to Julia Roberts for giving me the chance to read Time for a Short Story.

My Rating 5/5   You can buy Time for a Short Story here

time-for-a-short-story

Leave a Reply

