2021 · Book review

Book Review: Gild by Raven Kennedy #Gild @lovebooksgroup #lovebookstours

By bestselling author Raven Kennedy, comes the first book in a stunning new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and Jennifer L Armentrout.

The fae abandoned this world to us. And the ones with power rule.

Gold.

Gold floors, gold walls, gold furniture, gold clothes. In Highbell, in the castle built into the frozen mountains, everything is made of gold.

Even me.

King Midas rescued me. Dug me out of the slums and placed me on a pedestal. I’m called his precious. His favored. I’m the woman he Gold-Touched to show everyone that I belong to him. To show how powerful he is. He gave me protection, and I gave him my heart. And even though I don’t leave the confines of the palace, I’m safe.

Until war comes to the kingdom and a deal is struck.

Suddenly, my trust is broken. My love is challenged. And I realize that everything I thought I knew about Midas might be wrong.

Because these bars I’m kept in, no matter how gilded, are still just a cage. But the monsters on the other side might make me wish I’d never left.

The myth of King Midas reimagined. This compelling adult fantasy series is as addictive as it is unexpected. With romance, intrigue, and danger, the gilded world of Orea will grip you from the very first page.

My thoughts

Before I get to my review, that cover, wow. It’s utterly stunning, if I saw this in a shop I know I would go straight to it.

Now this book was not what I was expecting at all, described as perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and Jennifer L. Armentrout I was excited, I’m a huge fan of both authors so I just couldn’t wait to get stuck in.

This is the myth of King Midas reimagined and we’re told the tale through our protagonist Auren who is kept in a cage at the top of King Midas’s castle, no one is allowed to touch her, only Midas. King Midas however can touch whoever he wants and has many ‘saddles’ that he likes to have entertain him in front of Auren.

Now this is a dark fantasy book and I have to admit it did make me cringe, I love a sex scene but prefer it when the couple actually have feelings for each other and the only person in this story that seemed to have any were Auren, she’s deeply in love with Midas but it’s clear the feelings aren’t reciprocated.

I found the first half to be a bit slow, it didn’t feel like the story really got going until about half way but sometimes you find that with first books, there’s world and character building.

I liked Auren but I just desperately wanted her grow a pair, to stand up for herself, to see what I could see and to fight back. Hopefully in the second book she will.

This book really needs a lot of trigger warnings, rape, abuse, violence, grooming to name a few and there are scenes that if I could have covered my eyes I would have.

Over all the book had me intrigued and I will probably pick up the next books in the series, I’d like to know what happens but I think it’s just maybe a little too dark for me.

I’d like to thank Kelly at Love Books Tours for the ebook in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.