2021 · Blog Tour · Book review

Book Review: The Memory Keeper by Jenny Hale @jhaleauthor @Harpethroad

“A heartwarming, emotional book.” —New York TimesBestselling Author, RaeAnne Thayne


From the USA Today bestselling author of The Summer House comes a story about finding lost loves, chasing dreams, and the people who show up when they’re needed the most. The Memory Keeper is the perfect escape for fans of Susan Mallery, Debbie Macomber, and Sheila Roberts.

Hannah Townsend’s life is just as she’s always wanted it to be. She has the perfect job at a New York magazine, a small but elegant apartment in the upper west side, and an incredibly successful beau named Miles Monahan. This year, for her thirty-fifth birthday, she’s leaving the icy city sludge for sunshine! She’s got tickets for two to Barbados, and she’s all packed and meeting Miles at the airport for a week of cocktails, sandy beaches, and the music of steel drums.

But her life is turned upside down in the span of that one morning. Hannah is rocked by the news that her beloved grandmother is very sick, and Hannah needs to come home to her small Tennessee town right away to be with her family and help run her gran’s dilapidated flower shop. It also means she has to face Ethan Wright, the best friend she’d left behind so many years ago. If that isn’t enough to deal with, she discovers her boyfriend is seeing someone else.

With flights grounded and rental cars in great demand due to the winter snowstorm, she’s stranded at the airport. On her birthday, instead of waking up in a stylish beachfront hotel in Miles’s arms like she thought, she finds herself packed like sardines into a car, with two passengers, on a ride-share from LaGuardia Airport to her hometown of Franklin, Tennessee.

When everything seems to be going wrong, it’s the kindness of a handsome businessman from Hannah’s past named Liam McGuire that might just save her. But a new development that threatens Gran’s shop and secrets surrounding Liam could alter both their lives forever.

A heartwarming, sweet romance that will have you laughing, crying, and best of all, hugging those around you a little tighter. If you loved the Christmas movies based on Jenny’s books and are looking for more feel-good, small town romance, look no further!

My thoughts

Oh my goodness, what an absolutely fantastic read this was. The Memory Keeper swept me up from the very first page and took me on a heart warming journey, it totally drew me in and left me feeling all squishy and warm.

Hannah Townsend has a plan, she’s going to surprise her boyfriend and whisk him off for a well needed holiday to Barbados, massages and cocktails, sounds perfect right? Well life has other plans for Hannah and instead of basking on a sandy beach she ends sharing a car in a snow storm trying to get back to her old home town where her grandmother is poorly.

I really liked Hannah, she was a great character. She’s not been home for a while, she’s been living and working in New York. She’s worked her way up to the perfect job in a magazine and only had fleeting visits to her hometown so being back is strange. My heart went out to her at the beginning of the story but as it progresses you can see how determined she is, her family means the world to her and it puts a fire in her belly.

There’s actually a whole host of fantastic characters in this book, it was so lovely getting to know them all.

I’m not going to give too much away about this story but it was an absolute joy to read. It was addictive and the way it’s written it’s was like looking through the characters eyes, I felt like I was there in every page.

This is my first book by Jenny Hale but it certainly won’t be the last. So if you’re looking for a story that will lift you up, give you a glow then The Memory Keeper is the one for you.

About the author

Jenny Hale is a USA Today, Amazon, and international bestselling author of over 15 romantic fiction titles. Her books have sold worldwide and have been adapted for television, appearing on The Hallmark Channel as part of their famous Christmas lineup. She’s been included in Oprah Magazine’s “19 Dreamy Summer Romances to Whisk You Away” and in Southern Living’s list of “30 Christmas Novels to Start Reading Now.” She is also founder and director of Harpeth Road Press. In between having her nose in a book and writing her next novel, she’s running around Nashville taking photos and getting into mischief with her hubby, two kids, and their labradoodle. Her first Harpeth Road release will be available worldwide in eBook and paperback, January 26th.

Follow the tour

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.