2019 · Blog Tour · Book review

The Dangerous Kind by Deborah O’Connor @deboc77 @ZaffreBooks @Tr4cyF3nt0n #1in100People

Happy Friday, it’s been a long week but today I get the pleasure of sharing my review of The Dangerous Kind by Deborah O’Connor as part of the blog tour thanks to Tracy Fenton and Zaffre Books.

About the book

Perfect for fans of Anatomy of A Scandaland Belinda Bauer, The Dangerous Kind is a dark and gripping thriller that asks us all: how well do you really know the people you trust?

One in 100 of us is a ‘potentially dangerous person’ – someone likely to commit a violent crime. We all know them: these charmers, liars and manipulators. The ones who go one step too far. And then take another step.

These people hide in plain sight. They can be teachers, doctors, holding positions of trust, of power. 

Jessamine Gooch makes a living tracking the 1 in 100. Each week she broadcasts a radio show that examines brutal offences, asking if more could have been done to identify and prevent their perpetrators.

But when she agrees to investigate a missing person case involving a young mother, she is drawn into a web of danger that will ultimately lead to the upper echelons of power, and threaten the safety of her own family.

What if the people we trust are the ones we should fear?

The Dangerous Kind is available to purchase now – Amazon

My thoughts

Jessamine Gooch is a BBC radio presenter, she hosts a late night show that looks at past crimes and Potentially Dangerous People and investigates whether these crimes could have been prevented. Having previously been a news paper reporter, Jessamine reluctantly agrees to help Marnie, a young lady who’s friend Cassie has gone missing. Cassie vanished after getting a call to say her son had taken ill at school but Cassie never turned up and the school have no record of the phone call.

Jessamine is a single parent, Sarah her adopted daughter is as Jessamine thinks just going through a difficult stage, teenage years, but is Jessamine too caught up in her own troubles and investigation to see that Sarah may be embarking on a dangerous relationship and heading for trouble?

The Dangerous Kind is told in present time through the different characters but also goes back to the early 00s where we hear from a young girl called Rowena, although this isn’t an easy book to read subject wise, I found Rowena’s chapters to be the most difficult. My heart absolutely bled for Rowena, and although I was appalled I couldn’t stop reading, I had to find out what would happen.

The Dangerous Kind is one of those books where time just disappears, I got so engrossed in the story thinking I still had a couple of hours reading time before sleep so I was shocked to see it was well past midnight. It really grabs a hold of you, draws you in and it isn’t easy to put down. And even though the subject is harrowing and quite distressing at times it’s written in a spectacular way, it sort gives you the idea of what’s happening without too much information. It’s actually quite hard to describe, I think you really need to just go buy the book and hopefully you’ll see what I’m trying to say.

I found this story to be quite an eye opener, I mean do we really know everyone as well as we think we do? Could the next person you stop to speak to be 1 of the 100 who are likely to commit a crime? Who knows but one thing I do know is that The Dangerous Kind is a fantastic, thrilling and spine tingling thriller that I will definitely be recommending to everyone.

Follow the tour

6 thoughts on “The Dangerous Kind by Deborah O’Connor @deboc77 @ZaffreBooks @Tr4cyF3nt0n #1in100People

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.