2019 · Blog Tour · Book review

Where She Lies by Michael Scanlon #Review #BlogTour @MScanlonAuthor @bookouture

Today I get to share my review for Michael Scanlon’s debut novel Where She Lies as part of the blog tour. My thanks go to publishers Bookouture for the stop on the tour and the ecopy via NetGalley.

About the book

Where-She-Lies-Kindle.jpg

In a town full of liars, who can you trust?

When Detective Finnegan Beck is demoted from his high-powered job in Dublin and relocated in disgrace to the small Irish town of Cross Beg, he predicts boredom will be his biggest threat.

But then a beautiful, local teenage girl is found strangled in the cold, dark woods a mile from town. The prime suspect is the seemingly-gentle drifter who found Tanya’s body.

Beck seems to be the only person who can’t escape the feeling that Tanya wasn’t killed at random. As he digs deeper into the shadows of Cross Beg, he begins to realise it isn’t the sleepy backwater he’d first believed. Everyone here has something to hide. Tanya had a boyfriend, whose name no one knew. A best friend with a loose relationship with the truth. And a habit she thought she’d kept hidden from everyone.

But, just as Beck believes he is making progress, the body of one of the suspects is found drowned in the river. Is the killer just getting started?

Everyone in the town seems to have something they would die to protect. But who has a secret they’d kill for?

This debut novel from a powerful new Irish voice is the first in a gripping series that will feature the brilliant, haunted Detective Finnegan Beck who won’t rest until justice is found. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, Joy Ellis and Patricia Gibney.

Where She Lies is now available to purchase from the following –

Amazon | Apple Store | Kobo | Googleplay

My thoughts

Oh what a devilishly fantastic start to a new series ‘Where She Lies’ is and I didn’t even know until I was starting this review it’s actually a debut novel for Michael Scanlon.

Detective Finnegan Beck finds himself relocated to the small town of Cross Beg after being demoted from his high-powered job in Dublin. We don’t find out why he’s been demoted until further on in the story but it’s quite clear that Beck is a troubled man, he’s a flawed character and likes to drink a bit too much but he’s a good detective and a good character.

Beck doesn’t have much to go on with this case, there doesn’t seem to be many clues which is frustrating, for Beck and for me. I couldn’t figure out who it could be which is good, I like to be kept on my toes and I was, right the way through the book. Beck gets partnered up with Garda Claire Somers who’s just as determined as Beck is and they made a good pairing.

‘Where She Lies’ is a twisty dark story that was totally gripping, I flew the book desperate to find out what happened but it’s one of those that you’re desperate to get to the end but don’t want to rush and savour every page. I’m really looking forward to book two and finding out a bit more about Beck, I think this is going to be an exciting series and I’m hoping we don’t have too long to wait.

So if you like a story that draws you in, keeps you guessing, has more twists than a twisty thing then ‘Where She Lies’ is definitely for you and I will most certainly be recommending it. Fabulous. 

Follow the tour

Where She Lies - Blog Tour.jpg

About the author

IMG_1805_retouched.jpgMichael Scanlon is a civilian employee of the An Garda Siochana (the Irish police force), but a life threatening undiagnosed illness that struck while travelling in Spain in 2014 has rendered him on long term sick leave. He is married to Eileen and has a daughter, Sarah. He lives in the countryside outside the town of Ballina in County Mayo. The town has arguably the best salmon river in Europe, called the Moy.

Michael Scanlon on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.