2019 · Blog Tour · Book review

The Couple by Sarah Mitchell #BlogTour #Review @bookouture @SarahM_writer

It’s a pleasure today to be part of the blog tour for The Couple by Sarah Mitchell and I’ll be sharing my review further on, but first I’d like to thank Bookouture for the ecopy I received via NetGalley and share a bit about the book.

About the book

The-Couple-Kindle

Whatever you think you know… you’re wrong.

Following a whirlwind four-month romance, lawyer Claire and hotel entrepreneur Angus are engaged to be married. Happy and successful, and ready to start their new life together, Claire and Angus find what they believe to be the perfect home.

But when Claire meets Mark, the man selling them the house, he looks eerily familiar. He looks exactly like the man she loved five years ago, the man she couldn’t bear to lose.

As Claire finds herself irresistibly drawn to Mark and crosses lines she never thought she’d cross, Angus’ behaviour becomes increasingly suspicious. Soon Claire doesn’t know whether she can trust Mark, Angus… or even herself.

The Couple is a psychological thriller with a stunning twist, perfect for fans of The Girl Before, The Wife Between Us, and The Woman in the Window.

The couple is available now from the following –

Amazon | Apple Books | Kobo | Googleplay

My thoughts

The Couple begins with the introduction of Claire and Angus as they are in the process of celebrating their engagement. Having not been together long, Claire an immigration lawyer who works at the home office and Angus who runs a chain of small hotels look like the perfect couple but when Claire’s step-dad has a little slip up during the speech it’s apparent that maybe all isn’t quite how it seems.

Claire was a likeable character but some of the decisions she made were extremely stupid and I couldn’t help but feel like giving her a shake and telling her to get a grip. As the reader I had an idea of what was going on or about to happen but obviously as this is a book and it’s only fiction I couldn’t exactly tell her. Very frustrating indeed.

Through out the story we’re taken back to when Claire was in a relationship with her ex Daniel, this gave the story a bit more of a twist and along with everything that was going on in present day it made for quite a tense and gripping read.

The Couple takes the reader on one heck of a journey from past to present, it’s quite fast paced with many twists and turns. It’s one of those stories where you think you know where it might be going then boom, you’re taken off in a different direction.

A thoroughly enjoyable read and I look forward to reading more from Sarah Mitchell. 

Follow the tour

The Couple Blog Tour Poster.jpg

About the author

sarah 25-01-19 073.jpg

 

After graduating from Cambridge University, Sarah Mitchell practised as a barrister in London for 20 years, working in the field of human rights and European Law. She was tempted to write fiction for a long while and finally signed up for an introductory creative writing course with the Open University. Two years later she took a sabbatical from the bar to do an MA in Creative Writing at the UEA and has never looked back. THE LOST LETTERS is her first novel, inspired by a walk on the beach at Wells-next-the-Sea to calm her nerves before starting the MA, and the decision her grandparents almost made to evacuate her mother to Canada at the start of the Second World War. Sarah now lives back in Norfolk – where she grew up – with her husband and three almost-grown-up children, and combines writing with some legal work.

You can follow Sarah Mitchell on Twitter at @SarahM_writer

Advertisements

One thought on “The Couple by Sarah Mitchell #BlogTour #Review @bookouture @SarahM_writer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s