2018 · Blog Tour · Book review

Confessions of a First Time Mum by Poppy Dolan #Review #BlogTour @PoppyDwriter @Canelo_co

It’s a pleasure today to be able to share my review for Confessions of a First Time Mum by Poppy Dolan as part of the blog tour. My thanks go to Ellie Pilcher at Canelo for the opportunity.

Confessions extended (1)

Stevie’s life has changed beyond recognition since having her first baby.
Stevie loves being a mum, but between the isolation and being vomited on five times a day, she really wishes she had someone to talk to.
With husband Ted working hard to keep the family afloat, Stevie really doesn’t want to burden him with her feelings. Turning to the internet, Stevie starts the anonymous First-Time Mum blog and blasts the rose-tinted glasses of parenthood right off her readers.
In the real world, Stevie meets the formidable Nelle and gorgeous Will, along with their own little treasures, and starts to realise that being a ‘perfect mum’ isn’t everything. But when the secret blog goes viral, Stevie must make some tough choices about who she wants to be, and whether she’s ready for the world to know the truth…
A perfect laugh-out-loud read for fans of The Unmumsy Mum, Gill Sims and Emma Robinson.

 

Available to purchase from the following retailers now Amazon UK | Amazon US

Oh my goodness, never have I been able to relate to a book as much as I did with Confessions of a First Time Mum. I think any parent no matter what age their children are will be able to find something in this book that makes them think, yes that’s just spot on and I don’t think it matters if you’re a first time mum or not.

I sat reading this in between feeds and nappy changes, my baby is thirteen weeks old and I felt like I was reading about my life at the moment. When you have a baby it can be very overwhelming and you do tend to become a different person and reading this story I felt like it is completely normal and that I’m not actually going bonkers (well maybe just a little bit).

Stevie our protagonist is a fantastic character, she’s someone who you can take to straight away and by the end of the book I felt like she was a friend. Her sidekicks Nelle and Will are also crackers and very realistic.

Since becoming a mum again I’ve been reading the mummy blogs and following the mummy Instagrammers and it’s always baffled me how they can have their lives on show like they do and what starts off as a little secret blog for Stevie then spirals a bit out of control and I have to say my heart was in my mouth at some points and I really felt for Stevie.

Confessions of a First Time Mum is an absolute cracker of a book and one that I will be highly recommending to anyone, whether they are mums or not. This is a story that had me laughing, had me feeling like I was a little bit normal again and wishing I had friends like Nelle and the handsome Will.

Follow the tour

Confessions of a First-Time Mum blog tour.png

Poppy.jpgPoppy Dolan is in her mid thirties and lives in Berkshire with her husband. She’s a near-obsessive baker and a keen crafter, so on a typical weekend can be found moving between the haberdashery and kitchenware floors of a department store, adding to her birthday wish list. She has written three novels: The Bad Boyfriends Bootcamp, There’s More to Life than Cupcakes and most recently The Bluebell Bunting Society. The Bad Boyfriends Bootcamp made it into the Amazon top 100 bestseller chart, so clearly someone other than her mum must have read it. She’s currently working on her fourth novel – it’s about friends, siblings and crafty things – and drinking far too much tea.
You can get in touch with Poppy on Twitter @poppydwriter and on Facebook at PoppyDolanBooks. She doesn’t bite. Unless you are a dark chocolate digestive

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.