2018 · Blog Tour · Book review · Bookouture

Black Heart by Anna-Lou Weatherley #BlogTour #Review #BlackHeart @bookouture @annaloulondon

It’s a great pleasure to be able to share my review of Black Heart by Anna-Lou Weatherley today as the blog tour kicks off. This is the first book in the Detective Dan Riley series and it’s a cracker. My thanks go to Kim at Bookouture for the opportunity to be on the blog tour.

 

Black Heart.jpg

There’s a letter on the floor covered with blood next to a heart-shaped box of chocolates. The note says: ‘My beautiful darling, I’m sorry, please forgive me.’

When the body of a man is found with his wrists slashed in a London hotel room, it appears at first to be a tragic suicide. But Detective Dan Riley suspects there is more to this case than meets the eye and the pathology report confirms his worst fears – the victim was poisoned and suddenly Dan is dealing with a murder inquiry.

Then he makes a disturbing discovery, uncovering links between the victim and a woman calling herself Goldilocks on an online dating site. Is she seeking revenge or something more?

Still grieving the devastating loss of his girlfriend and unborn child in a car accident two years ago, Dan throws everything he has into the investigation. Yet just as Dan begins to piece together the clues of this complex case, the body of a woman is found in her bed with identical wounds.

Dan is on the trail of a twisted individual who is much closer than he realises. Can he overcome his own demons and stop the killer before it’s too late?

An all-consuming and totally unputdownable read that will have you holding your breath to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza and Karin Slaughter.

Published by Bookouture and available to purchase from the following retailers – Amazon UK | Amazon US

MY THOUGHTS

This is the second book I have read by Anna-Lou Weatherley and having previously loved Pleasure Island i was really looking forward to reading Black Heart.The description had me totally intrigued and the cover is fabulous, it really stands out.

Two years ago Detective Dan Riley lost his girlfriend and unborn child in a terrible accident, he’s still mourning the loss but trying to also move on. He’s called to the scene of an apparent suicide but he’s not convinced all is as it seems and his instincts are telling him to dig deeper.

Dan’s a cracking character, he’s still quite vulnerable after the loss of his girlfriend and is struggling to let go but he’s a determined detective and a blooming good one at that. I really took to Dan, he’s quite a different character to the usual detectives and I can’t quite put my finger on why. Maybe it’s because he has a sympathy that really shows for the victims and their families, an understanding of sorts. Or maybe it’s the love he still shows for his girlfriend, it was a true love and one that will stay deep in his heart. Either way I’m really excited to see where Anna-Lou Weatherley takes Dan in the future.

The story is a wee bit gory in parts but I loved that, it’s maybe not for the faint hearted and at some points throughout the book I could feel me toes curling and the images that were created in my head will stay for a while. That’s the sign of a good book though in my opinion.

The story is very engrossing and is told from the point of view of Dan and Goldilocks. I was racing through the pages desperate to get to the next chapter and I have to say it’s quite edge of your seat stuff. It’s not a story you can say you’ll just read one more chapter because on quite a few occasions it’s left on a cliff hanger so you have to read on. I ended up reading it all in one sitting.

So without giving anything away I’ll just say that Black Heart is an edge of your seat, toe curling thriller that will have you totally engrossed, one I will be highly recommending and a cracking start to a new series.

FOLLOW THE TOUR

Black Heart Blog tour.jpg

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Anna-Lou.jpg

Anna-Lou began her career as a dancer but a moped accident in Ibiza put paid to those aspirations and so she went back to her first and one true love – writing! She re-trained as a journalist, specialising mainly in women’s interest and celebrity, becoming the Editor of J-17 and Smash Hits as well as writing for a host of women’s magazines.
Anna-Lou has written three Adult Fiction titles – Vengeful Wives and Wicked Wives, both published by Avon in the UK and Bookouture in the US and Canada and Pleasure Island published by Bookouture. Anna-Lou on Twitter

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.