2018 · Book review

Assassins Retribution by Rachel Amphlett #ReleaseDay #Review @RachelAmphlett

I’m over the moon today to be sharing my review of book 3 in the English Spy Mystery Series 1, Assassins Retribution by Rachel Amphlett. I am however totally gutted this series has come to an end but I’m really looking forward to seeing what Rachel Amphlett has up her sleeve next. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading these books and would like to thank Rachel for the opportunity, it’s very much appreciated.

Assassins Retribution.jpg

 

Who spies on the spies?

The net is closing in on Eva and her team, now on the warpath and seeking revenge.

Old alliances are tested, new enemies are exposed, and somehow Eva has to stop a madman unleashing a weapon of terrifying consequences upon an unsuspecting population.

The clock is ticking…

The English Spy Mysteries is a new concept by acclaimed crime thriller author, Rachel Amphlett. Combining fast-paced thrilling reads with episodic delivery in the vein of TV shows 24, Alias, and Spooks, series 1 is a must-read for fans of Robert Ludlum, Vince Flynn, and James Patterson.

The English Spy Mysteries series 1:

Episode 1: Assassins Hunted (7 January 2018) – Amazon UK | Amazon US
Episode 2: Assassins Vengeance (14 January 2018) – Amazon UK | Amazon US
Episode 3: Assassins Retribution (21 January 2018) – Amazon UK | Amazon US

MY THOUGHTS

Assassins Retribution, is the final instalment in the English Spy Mystery series 1 and what I would call an edge of your seat, nail-biting finale. I do not recommend you read this as a stand alone, you definitely have to read the first two books to follow the story and to be perfectly honest you’d be mad not to. They are FANTASTIC.

Things really hot up in the final instalment and Eva is on a mission along with Decker and Nathan to put a stop to a madman unleashing a weapon of terrifying consequences upon an unsuspecting population. Not an easy task when there are people trying to stop you at every turn and you don’t know who to trust.

In the first two books there were many questions looking for answers and everything comes together magnificently in Assassins Retribution. I wasn’t sure at all how everything would pan out but it was a very satisfying end and it had the hairs on the back of my arms stand on end reading this book.

I’ve really grown to like Eva, Decker and Nathan, they make a good team and I’m going to miss reading about them.

Full of twists and turns, Assassins Retribution is fast paced and will have you on the edge of your seat. I could see these books being made into a TV series, I think they’d be a huge hit although I’m not sure who I would cast. I have pictures in my mind of the characters but they are purely my imagination, no one anyone would know.

So I think it’s fairly safe to say that I highly recommend The English Spy Mystery series, I’ve given each book a five-star rating and I’m really looking forward to reading more from Rachel Amphlett in the near future.

ABOUT RACHEL AMPHLETT

rachel v

Before turning to writing, Rachel Amphlett played guitar in bands, worked as a TV and film extra, dabbled in radio as a presenter and freelance producer for the BBC, and worked in publishing as a sub-editor and editorial assistant.
She now wields a pen instead of a plectrum and writes crime fiction and spy novels, including the Dan Taylor espionage novels and the Detective Kay Hunter series.
Originally from the UK and currently based in Brisbane, Australia, Rachel cites her writing influences as Michael Connelly, Lee Child, and Robert Ludlum. She’s also a huge fan of Peter James, Val McDermid, Angela Marsons, Robert Bryndza, Ken Follett, and Stuart MacBride.
She’s a member of International Thriller Writers and the Crime Writers Association, with the Italian foreign rights for her debut novel, White Gold sold to Fanucci Editore’s TIMECrime imprint, and the first four books in the Dan Taylor espionage series contracted to Germany’s Luzifer Verlag.
Her novels are available in eBook, paperback and audiobook formats from worldwide retailers including Amazon, iBooks, Kobo, and Google Play.
A keen traveller, Rachel holds both EU and Australian passports and can usually be found plotting her next trip two years in advance, usually with a crime fiction festival tacked on for good measure! You can stay in touch with Rachel via her Reader’s Group at https://www.rachelamphlett.com/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.