2017 · Blog Tour · Book review

She’s Not There by Joy Fielding #BlogTour #Review @joyfielding @BonnierZaffre

She’s Not There by Joy fielding is the last blog tour post for this year on It’s all about the books today and I’m so pleased to be able to share my review. My thanks got to the publishers for the copy.

She's Not There.jpg

 

Gripping psychological suspense from the New York Times bestselling author, Joy Fielding. Perfect for readers of Liz Nugget’s Lying in Wait, BA Paris and Jenny Blackhurst.

‘I think my real name is Samantha. I think I’m your daughter.’

When Caroline Shipley’s two-year-old daughter disappeared, her whole world came crashing down.

Now, fifteen years later, Caroline receives a phone-call that could change everything.

But could this stranger really be her daughter? And what happened all those years ago to make her vanish without a trace? As Caroline pieces together the events of that ill-fated holiday, she begins to question whether the answers could lie dangerously close to home . . .

She’s Not There is available to purchase now from the following retailers – Amazon UK | Amazon US

MY THOUGHTS

As a treat for their wedding anniversary, Hunter has taken Caroline and their two children, Michelle and Samantha off to Mexico for a holiday. A nice relaxing romantic week with kids club and babysitters to look after the children. All goes well until the final evening, when tragedy strikes and lives are changed forever.

The story is told mainly from Caroline’s point of view, moving back and forward from the present to the time when Samantha was taken and the years that followed. This is done wonderfully well, giving us little snippets and ideas to what could have happened. It’s a real guessing game and quite intense at points.

She’s Not There is a very character driven story. In the beginning we get a good feel for the characters and they are very realistic. By the time I got maybe halfway through I felt like I knew the characters personally which really set my emotions off. The author has done a fabulous job of  showing how each character has changed over the years and how the awful disappearance of a child has changed the relationships between many of the characters.

The second half of the book is a bit more action packed and tense. I was turning the pages so fast, if it had been a paper copy I think it would have went on fire. I was desperate to know what the heck really happened in Mexico and blooming heck what an ending it has. I really didn’t guess how it was going to play out at all.

She’s Not There is an edge of your seat kind of read, it had me totally engrossed from page one. Joy Fielding has written a story where the words just flow over the pages and totally draw you in hook , line and sinker. This being the first book I have read by this author I will definitely be having a look to see what other books I have been missing out on and highly recommend She’s Not There, it’s a cracker.

She's Not There Blog Tour Banner.png 

 

One thought on “She’s Not There by Joy Fielding #BlogTour #Review @joyfielding @BonnierZaffre

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.