2017 · Blog Tour · Book review

The Lost Child by Patricia Gibney #Review @bookouture @trisha460

It’s an absolute honour today to be able to share my review for The Lost Child by Patricia Gibney as part of the blog tour. Special thanks go to Bookouture for the copy in exchange for an honest review.

The Lost Child.png

 

They placed me in here and threw away the key. I look down at the gown they’ve put on me. I want my own clothes. I don’t know how long I’ve been here.

An elderly woman is found murdered in her own home, and Detective Lottie Parker and her partner Detective Boyd are called in to investigate. When they discover that the victim’s daughter is missing as well, they start to fear for the safety of the whole family…

Two days later as a nearby house is set on fire and with the body count rising, Lottie and her team begin to unpick a web of secrets and lies, as the murders seem to link back to a case investigated by Lottie’s father before he took his own life. 

With little knowledge of what really happened to her father, Lottie knows this is a case that could give her some answers. But how much does she want to know? And how far is Lottie prepared to dig to uncover the truth?

The Lost Child is a thrilling page-turner from the bestselling author of The Missing Ones and The Stolen Girls that will have you guessing right to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Angela Marsons and Robert Dugoni.

Published by Bookouture on October 27th 2017 and available to purchase from the following – Amazon UK | Amazon US

MY REVIEW

The Lost Child is book three in the D. I. Lottie Parker series and oh boy have I been looking forward to it. The first two books The Missing Ones and The Stolen Girls were first class reads and I have to say I am absolutely loving this series. I honestly wouldn’t recommend reading The Lost Child without reading the other two first as there is a lot of character building through the books and to be fair you’d be really missing out by skipping them.

Lottie Parker is an incredible character that you can’t help getting attached too. She’s hard-working and determined, she’s also mum to 3 teenagers and a new Granny. Lottie has a lot of demons from her past haunting her and her life is a bit of a shambles trying to juggle home life and her work load but she wouldn’t be the same if she didn’t have the chaos which she seems to thrive on.

Lottie and her partner Detective Boyd are called in to investigate the murder of an elderly lady found in her daughter’s house, her daughter is missing and there seems to be only one suspect. What then follows is a mass of secrets and revelations. This book is action packed with many sub plots that actually made my head whirl with delight. You’d honestly have to read it to believe it, it totally blew my socks off.

Gibney has an incredible talent, every page held my attention and I couldn’t  turn them fast enough. It’s fast paced and I found myself holding my breath at some points and it’s fantastic to find out more about Lottie as the story continues, even if while I was reading my eyes were nearly popping out my head. Everything comes together so well and what an ending this book has, I sooooo can not wait for book four.

This is such a brilliant series with each book getting better and better if that’s at all possible and I will definitely be recommending it.

FOLLOW THE TOUR

The Lost Child poster.png  

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Patricia Gibney.png

Patricia lives in the midlands of Ireland. She is an avid crime reader so naturally she found herself writing in the crime genre.

A life changing experience in 2009, with the death of her 49 year old husband, meant she had to give up her career, and over the following few years, she rekindled her love of art and writing.

Initially Patricia wrote and illustrated a children’s book, but her real ambition was to write a novel. And she did!

In January 2016, she joined with Ger Nichol of The Book Bureau Literary Agency. In July 2016, Patricia signed with Bookouture for four DI Lottie Parker crime novels.

The Missing Ones (Book 1) published in March 2017 and to date has reached a high of number 2 in Amazon UK Kindle charts and number 6 in the US. It also achieved number 1 in all its categories. It is a bestseller in UK, US, Canada and Australia.

Book 2 in the series, The Stolen Girls, published on July 6th, 2017.

Book 3, The Lost Child, is on pre-order and is published on October 27th, 2017.

You can connect with Patricia Gibney at the following sites –  Facebook | Twitter | Website

Advertisements

One thought on “The Lost Child by Patricia Gibney #Review @bookouture @trisha460

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s