2017 · Blog Tour · Book review

The Other Twin by L V Hay #blogtour #review @LucyVHayAuthor @OrendaBooks

Today I’m chuffed to bits to be taking part in the blog tour for Lucy V Hay’s debut novel The Other Twin. Huge thanks go to Orenda books and Anne Cater for the chance to be on the blog tour.

The Other Twin cover.jpg

About the book

When India falls to her death from a bridge over a railway, her sister Poppy returns home to Brighton for the first time in years. Unconvinced by official explanations, Poppy begins her own investigation into India’s death. But the deeper she digs, the closer she comes to uncovering deeply buried secrets. Could Matthew Temple, the boyfriend she abandoned, be involved? And what of his powerful and wealthy parents, and his twin sister, Ana? Enter the mysterious and ethereal Jenny: the girl Poppy discovers after hacking into India’s laptop. What exactly is she hiding, and what did India find out about her? Taking the reader on a breathless ride through the winding lanes of Brighton, into its vibrant party scene and inside the homes of its well-heeled families, The Other Twin is a startling and up-to-the-minute thriller about the social-media world, where resentments and accusations are played out online, where identities are made and remade, and where there is no such thing as the truth… 

Kindle edition available 1st August 2017  amazon.co.uk

Paperback edition available 1st November 2017

My thoughts

First of all I want to start with the cover, look at it, It’s simple but intriguing and I know you should never judge a book by it’s cover but we all do, don’t we? Well this just shouted READ ME and so I did and what a surprise I got.

I haven’t got a clue what I was expecting when I read the description for this book, there had already been quite a lot of hype on social media before I picked it up so I was eager to see why everyone was raving about it.

When Poppy returns home to Brighton after her younger sister falls to her death from a railway bridge, Poppy is convinced there is more to her sisters death than meets the eye. What follows for Poppy is a very complicated path in which she must untangle the lies and secrets that will help her find the truth.

The Other Twin is a very well written story that really drags you in by the scruff of the neck, I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough to find out how this very complex story would unfold and with lots of ups and downs, twists and turns I found myself not trusting anyone that Poppy came across. I could feel my frustration building along with Poppy as she tried to piece together India’s life before her death. The Other Twin is one of those stories where you think you’ve guessed the who’s and how’s and boom another twist is thrown in and you’re back to square one again.

I could probably go on and on with my review but I really don’t want to spoil any of the story and I fear I may if I keep typing. So with very realistic characters, a plot that is full of suspense dealing with relevant social issues, The Other Twin is like nothing I’ve ever read before and I will be highly recommending this cracking debut. I’m quite excited to see what the author has up her sleeve next.

About the author

Lucy Hay author photoLucy V. Hay is a novelist, script editor and blogger who helps writers via her Bang2write consultancy. She is the associate producer of Brit Thrillers Deviation (2012) and Assassin (2015), both starring Danny Dyer. Lucy is also head reader for the London Screenwriters’ Festival and has written two non-fiction books, Writing & Selling Thriller Screenplays, plus its follow-up Drama Screenplays. She lives in Devon with her husband, three children, six cats and five African Land Snails.

 

Leave a Reply

