2017 · Blog Tour · Book review

Ice Lake by John A. Lenahan #blogtour #bookreview @HarperCollinsUK @KillerReads

Today I’m thrilled to be one of the blogs kicking off the blog tour for Ice Lake by John A. Lenahan, the first in a new series about psychologist Harry Cull.

35126380

BD37AD23-4416-47E1-BF68-D978668E027A

…WHERE EVERYBODY LIES. AND SOME PEOPLE KILL…
An electrifying debut crime novel and the first in a new series featuring psychologist Harry Cull. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Bellingham and Peter May.
AN ABANDONDED BODY
Deep in the woods of North-eastern Pennsylvania, the body of a man is found – shot three times, dumped under the trees where the local kids will find him.
A HAUNTED PSYCHOLOGIST
Psychologist Harry Cull, tormented by his past, arrives in the picturesque town of Ice Lake to help with the murder investigation. There he unravels a web of lies and deceit that leads to the dark heart of a community torn apart by fracking, drugs and murder.
A DESPERATE KILLER
It’s not long before the second corpse turns up, this time a lawyer left for dead in the forest, and Harry finds himself on the trail of a twisted killer – who will do anything to keep the town’s darkest secrets buried.

Published  7th July 2017 and available to purchase at amazon.co.uk

7910D608-B01E-4FA6-8D09-4F3E331265AD

When I read the description of Ice Lake I was intrigued, especially as it’s the start of a new series and I love a good series.

Ice Lake opens with a murder, a local man called Bill,  liked by everyone is found dead in the woods and Trooper Edward Cirba decides to call on his old friend Harry Cull, ex police and now a psychologist, for help. Armed with his lie detector Harry sets off to Ice Lake to help Cirba try and untangle the mystery.

Harry Cull was an interesting character, having once worked in the police he now has his own consultancy after a trauma saw him leaving the force and splitting up from his wife. He has a knack for knowing when someone is lying, reading their body language and picking up the little ticks that people have when they lie. This is something that’s always interested me so it was quite different having Harry as the main character. Working alongside Cirba, I liked the banter and friendship they had. They worked good together.

The story was well plotted, and at the beginning of a lot of the chapters it gave you factual information on the area which was something different. I’d definitely say this was a promising start to a new series, it was suspenseful and with lies and secrecy I couldn’t quite figure out who the suspect was. I wouldn’t say it was a fast paced story but it certainly had enough to keep you turning the pages and it also left enough open to get excited to see what will happen next in the series. I’m quite looking forward to seeing what’s in store for Harry Cull next.

My thanks go to the publishers for the chance to read Ice Lake and be part of the blog tour. All opinions are my own and unbiased.

Please check out the other stops on the blog tour for the fantastic Ice Lake.

ICE LAKE Blog Tour Poster

Advertisements

One thought on “Ice Lake by John A. Lenahan #blogtour #bookreview @HarperCollinsUK @KillerReads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s