Blog Tour · Book review

Alice in Theatreland by Julia Roberts #blogtour #bookreview @JuliaRobertsTV

I’m absolutely over the moon to be on the blog tour today for Alice in Theatreland by Julia Roberts, having previously read Time for a Short Story and loving it I knew I’d thoroughly enjoy this one too. A huge thanks goes to Julia for giving me the chance to read Alice in Theatreland and be on the blog tour.

ALICE in TL Cover (1).jpg

 

 BD37AD23-4416-47E1-BF68-D978668E027A

It’s summer 1976; London is languishing in the sultry heat. Beautiful and talented nineteen-year-old, Alice Abbott, arrives in the city with high hopes of one day seeing her name up in lights but first she must impress Richard, the producer of a new West End show, Theatreland.

Alice is befriended at the audition by the more experienced Gina, who, although burdened by her own dark secrets, is determined to protect the newcomer from the sleaze behind the glamour. She also attracts attention from the male lead in the show, Peter, a former pop star struggling to escape his playboy reputation.

Alice’s star seems to be rising as fast as the temperature until she naively accepts an impromptu dinner invitation from Richard. What happened that night? And how far will Richard go to protect his guilty secret?

Alice in Theatreland is available to purchase now from amazon.co.uk

Alice in Theatreland.png

7910D608-B01E-4FA6-8D09-4F3E331265AD

I’m honestly not sure where to start with this review, I was desperately needing something a bit different to my usual crime thriller reads and I knew Alice in Theatreland would do the trick but what I didn’t realise was how the story would totally get under my skin and draw me in.

From the prologue I was totally hooked, it wasn’t quite what I was expecting but it totally had me intrigued and desperate to find out who and how that person came to be in that situation. We then meet 19 year old Alice as she’s leaving her home in Nottingham, she’s heading off to London to an audition for a new West End Show, her friend has given her the use of her flat while she’s away for 6 weeks and filled with determination, she dreams one day of seeing her name in lights.

I totally fell in love with Alice, she’s quite naïve and not quite as street wise as some but she’s very talented even though she doesn’t realise it or have the faith in herself. Alice is a character that has a heart of gold and I was desperately wanting Alice to succeed.

Another character I really liked was Gina, she befriends Alice at the first audition and gives Alice some much needed advice. Gina’s not had an easy life, she’s street wise, a dancer by day, a hostess by night and being older than Alice the two are totally different but a firm friendship begins and I was really backing Gina too, hoping she would succeed just like I hoped for Alice.

Julia Roberts really knows how to set a scene and draw the reader in, clearly having experience in the theatre audition process Roberts really makes the story come alive. It was like I was in 1976, I was so engrossed in the story I could feel the nerves and excitement, the fear and disappointment. I wont go into the plot, you really need to read this book to find out what happens, but there is one character that really got my heckles up and as I was sitting reading those scenes I really wanted to just scream at the book and punch the character.

Alice in Theatreland really is a page turner, so much so I didn’t want it to end, even though I was desperate to see how things panned out and see if Alice was going to get her dream.  It’s a mixture of love, drama, suspense and excitement and I’d love to see this on the stage or even on TV, I think it would be brilliant. I definitely highly recommend Alice in Theatreland and would love to read more about Alice in the future.

B58940DF-1DEA-4AD3-8726-383137C17C4C

Julia Roberts author pic.JPG

Julia Roberts’ passion for writing began when, at the age of ten, after winning second prize in a short story-writing competition, she announced that she wanted to write a book. After a small gap of forty-seven years, and a career in the entertainment industry, Julia finally fulfilled her dream in 2013 when her first book, a memoir entitled One Hundred Lengths of the Pool, was published by Preface Publishing. Two weeks later she had the idea for her first novel, Life’s a Beach and Then…, book one in the Liberty Sands Trilogy, which was released in May 2015.

Julia still works full-time as a Presenter for the TV channel QVC, where she has recently celebrated her twenty-third anniversary.

She now lives in Ascot with her partner of thirty-nine years and occasionally one or other of her adult children and their respective cats.

 

You can find out more about Julia and her upcoming books on her Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/JuliaRobertsTV and her website http://www.juliarobertsauthor.com

You can also follow her on Twitter @JuliaRobertsTV

 

By Julia Roberts

Life’s a Beach and Then… (Liberty Sands trilogy, book one)

If He Really Loved Me… (Liberty Sands trilogy, book two)

It’s Never Too Late to Say… (Liberty Sands trilogy, book three)

Time for a Short Story

The Shadow of Her Smile (free short story on http://www.juliarobertsauthor.com)

One Hundred Lengths of the Pool

 

2 thoughts on “Alice in Theatreland by Julia Roberts #blogtour #bookreview @JuliaRobertsTV

Leave a Reply

