2017, Book review

The Sixth Window ( DCI Tom Douglas #6 ) by Rachel Abbott #BookReview

The Sixth Window.png

Book Description

Eighteen months after Natalie Gray loses her husband Bernie in a horrific hit and run accident, she finds love with his best friend, Ed Cooper, and moves into his home with her teenage daughter Scarlett. But she begins to suspect Ed has a dark side — and even darker intentions. Natalie must get her troubled child to a safer place, but when Scarlett starts to hear voices coming from the empty apartment next door it seems she has unwittingly moved them into the heart of danger.

DCI Tom Douglas is also chasing the truth. As his investigation into the suicide of a teenage girl draws him ever closer to Natalie and Scarlett, will he be too late to protect them from the threat they face, or from the truths that will tear their lives apart?

Published by Black Dot Publishing on February 21st 2017

Available on Amazon.co.uk

My Thoughts

Having read all the DCI Tom Douglas books and loving them all I was overly excited when it was announced book six was to be released. And Rachel Abbott did not disappoint with The sixth Window. I know that when I pick up one of her books that I have to make sure I have time to read it because I don’t want to put it down and again like the others in the series I was totally hooked from page one.

Tom Douglas is a fantastic character, I will admit I have a little crush on him. He’s quite a breath of fresh air. He’s determined, reliable and caring and over the series we’ve gotten to know him a bit better each time. Although saying that if you were to pick up The Sixth Window as your first Rachel Abbott read it would work well as a stand alone as there is enough information to keep you going and not feel like you are missing parts. I enjoy the partnership  between Becky Robinson and Tom, they make a great team.

The story centres around Natalie and her daughter Scarlet, Natalie’s husband Bernie was killed in a hit and run accident 18 months previous and Natalie has started a relationship with Bernie’s best friend Ed. When Natalie discovers something on Ed’s computer she takes Scarlet and moves to an apartment in the city where she thinks they’ll be safe. Meanwhile Tom is investigating the death of a teenage girl, it looks to be suicide but her family follow strong religious views and can not comprehend that their daughter would take her own life.

The Sixth Window tackles some difficult yet very believable and scary subjects. It takes you on a roller coaster ride of emotions and fear and really not knowing who to trust through out the book. The two story’s are very cleverly woven together and I felt breathless at times while reading with the fear of not knowing. Rachel Abbott really has a talent for drawing you in from the first page and keeping you enthralled right to the very last page. This is another spectacular edition to the Tom Douglas series and leaves enough questions at the end to let you hope that maybe the characters may pop up again in future Tom Douglas books or a possible novella like Nowhere Child. Either way I can’t wait for the next instalment and I highly recommend the whole series.

*My thanks go to Black Dot Publishing and NetGalley*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.