2016 · Book review

The Food of Love by Amanda Prowse

the food of love

About the Book

A loving mother. A perfect family. A shock wave that could shatter everything.

Freya Braithwaite knows she is lucky. Nineteen years of marriage to a man who still warms her soul and two beautiful teenage daughters to show for it: confident Charlotte and thoughtful Lexi. Her home is filled with love and laughter.

But when Lexi’s struggles with weight take control of her life, everything Freya once took for granted falls apart, leaving the whole family with a sense of helplessness that can only be confronted with understanding, unity and, above all, love.

My Thoughts

This is the first book I’ve read by Amanda Prowse. And even though I’ve been hearing nothing but praise for this author over the last two years I’ve been blogging, I just never seemed to get around to reading any of her books until now. I’d seen a lot of hype for The Food of Love so where better to start than with this.

As the book description say’s Freya has the perfect family, a loving husband and two beautiful teenage daughters until everything is turned upside down when Lexi develops an eating disorder. I’ve never had experience with eating disorders but having 3 children ( 2 teenagers and a nearly teenager ) this is something that as many parents would probably agree with plays on my mind so I was really interested to see how the author dealt with it. What I found was that Amanda Prowse deals with it sympathetically, its an emotional story that drew me in completely and sometimes I forgot it was just a story.

The characters come alive in this book, it’s so easy to imagine and picture the scenes as you read through. Each character feels real and reading how they go from a loving family to a family faced with such sadness and turmoil, how each one copes with Lexi’s illness was just heart breaking but eye opening as well.

You can really tell the author has done her research for this story. This isn’t a story just about Lexi who has anorexia, this is a story about a family, each one deals with it in a different way and each family member is affected in a different way. I really felt for mum Freya, as a mum you feel it is your job to protect your children and even when it is something out of your control the guilt that a mum feels is horrendous and all you want to do is protect and please your child. I really felt like I connected to Freya, having had a child go through a horrendous illness everything Freya was feeling and trying to do resonated with me.

This is a story that will stay with me for a long time and one that I highly recommend.

You can purchase a copy of The Food of Love here

*My thanks go to the publishers and Netgalley for my copy in exchange for an honest review*

Leave a Reply

