2017 · Book review

Her Husband’s Lover by Julia Crouch #review

Her husband's Lover.png

Book Description –

She stole her husband. Now she wants to take her life.

After the horrors of the past, Louisa Williams is desperate to make a clean start.
Her husband Sam is dead. Her children, too, are gone, victims of the car accident in which he died.
Sam said that she would never get away from him. That he would hound her to death if she tried to leave. Louisa never thought that he would want to harm their children though.
But then she never thought that he would betray her with a woman like Sophie.
And now Sophie is determined to take all that Louisa has left. She wants to destroy her reputation and to take what she thinks is owed her – the life she would have had if Sam had lived.
Her husband’s lover wants to take her life. The only question is will Louisa let her?

Publication Date ~ 26th Jan 2017

Published by ~ Headline

My thoughts –

I have to say I’m quite blown away by this book, I’m not sure what I was expecting when I picked it up but what I got was an intense, suspenseful read that had me totally gripped.

I’ve never read anything by Julia Crouch before and now I’m asking myself why the heck not. Her Husbands Lover opens dramatically, I love when a story starts this way but sometimes you find it kind of sags in the middle but the author has done a fantastic job of keeping the readers attention right the way through the book.

The story is told by two narrators, you have the wife Louisa and the lover Sophie and the story alternates between the two in present times and the past. It’s very cleverly done and makes you want to keep on reading.

It’s actually really difficult to write a review about this book as I really don’t want to give anything away, so what I will say is that Her Husband’s Lover gave me goose bumps, it left me open mouthed, shocked and has a plot that has so many twist’s and turn’s it leaves you feeling dizzy.

I’ll definitely be highly recommending this book and I’m looking forward to catching up with the authors previous work.

*My thanks go to NetGalley and Headline for the copy in exchange for an honest review*

2 thoughts on “Her Husband’s Lover by Julia Crouch #review

Leave a Reply

