Book review

Scare Me by Richard Parker * Review*

Synopsis – “When did you last google yourself, Mr Frost?”

Will Frost, successful businessman and happy family man, is woken to a disturbing midnight caller who asks him just that question.

Unnerved, but hoping that he was simply a victim of a twisted prank caller, he goes back to sleep in readiness for his pregnant daughter, Libby, and her boyfriend’s arrival at Gatwick the next morning.

When Will goes online, he finds a website has been set up in his name, showing photographs of the inside of his home, along with photographs of six houses he’s never seen before.

In the first of these strange houses, a gruesome murder has already taken place.

Will is then told that his own family is in mortal danger.

The only way he can keep them safe is to visit each of the houses on the website in person – before the police discover what has happened there.

Seven houses.

Seven gruesome homicides.

Seven chances to save his daughter’s life…

Will must embark on his twisted journey, encountering grisly murder after murder, as his torturer plays with his fears of losing Libby in a sick scavenger hunt.

But can Will ever save his daughter?

scare-me

My thoughts – I have to start off by saying I absolutely love the cover of this book. It jumped out at me as soon as I saw it and then I read the synopsis and I knew I had to read this book.

The book got off to a great start and by the end of chapter one I was left sitting wide-mouthed and wondering what the heck was going to happen next. Unlike a lot of books where we have to read through to the end,  Scare Me tells us who the antagonist is at the beginning, a girl called Poppy. What we don’t know is, who Poppy is and why is she doing what she’s doing?

Poppy seriously gave me the heebie jeebies, a character to fear and totally ruthless in her mission to destroy Will Frost. I often found myself holding my breath at some of her antics and still can’t get the pictures this book conjured up out of my mind. This book has a few characters in it and we get to hear the point of view from each one as the story goes along which I really enjoyed.  I felt it gave a little extra to the story and made it a bit more intense.

Richard Parker has cleverly written an edge of you seat psychological thriller. It’s gruesome, heart stopping and with quite a few red herrings you wont want to put this book down.  As I was reading I was thinking to myself what a great film this would make so was totally delighted to find this out on Goodreads SCARE ME has been snapped up by major Hollywood studio, Relativity Media. Wentworth (Prison Break/Stoker) Miller has just completed the screenplay.

So if you like a good thriller then I definitely recommend Scare Me, but just make sure you have an empty diary and some peace and quiet as you really wont want to put this book down.

My rating 5/5

My thanks go to Maxine at Booklover Catlady Publicity & Reviews for the copy in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

