Book review

Moondance by Diane Chandler *Review*

moondance

Synopsis – IVF could create a baby but could it also destroy a marriage?

Cat has always been in control of her life. Happily married to Dom, but flying high as a political lobbyist, she dismisses his desire to start a family … until she herself is ready.

But what if it is then too late?

Complex and selfish, intelligent and open, if she is to succeed in having that elusive child, Cat must battle through gruelling fertility treatment and the emotional strain it places on her marriage. By her side, Dom, easy going and ever the optimist, finds that he too risks being run ragged by their journey.

Both are forced to come to terms with their longing for a baby against the blitz on a relationship tested like never before.

Bittersweet, at times funny, and always emotionally raw, this is by far the most moving and honest novel you’ll ever read about IVF and its impact on a marriage.

Publication Date ~ 31st October 2016

Published by ~ Blackbird Digital Books

My thoughts – Moondance covers a very difficult subject, IVF, and not one you come across very often in books, so I was intrigued to see how I would get on with this book. It’s not my usual type but the synopsis really drew me in.

We follow Cat and Dom’s journey through the process of IVF, both are very successful in their jobs , but it’s now time to start a family. Sadly it’s not quite as simple as that and for Cat who is in control of very much everything this is one thing that can’t be controlled.

Cat and Dom have been together for a long time and although the story takes us through the process of their IVF it also takes us back to when they first met and their journey to where they are now. Cat is the sort of character if she was real I would avoid, some times I really disliked her yet other times I thought nah she’s ok,  but I feel Diane Chandler has done a fantastic job of getting her character perfect. She really felt real to me. I think if she’d been the fluffy wife the story just wouldn’t have gelled the same. Dom I liked more but still there was something that irked me about him, something that I couldn’t quite put my finger on but they both made the story seem real and were very believable.

In Moondance we are taken on a journey full of emotions. A very delicate subject that has been written with passion. It’s raw, yet there’s humour and I was drawn in straight away. Some may find this a difficult read due to the subject matter but it’s been written in a way that gives you some understanding for couples who go through this treatment and at times I felt like I was reading someone’s personal story.

A thoroughly enjoyable read that had me hooked from page one and one that I will definitely recommend.

My rating 4/5

I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book, thanks to Blackbird Digital.

Leave a Reply

