Play Dead by Angela Marsons

Description – The dead don’t tell secrets… unless you listen.
The girl’s smashed-in face stared unseeing up to the blue sky, soil spilling out of her mouth. A hundred flies hovered above the bloodied mess.

Westerley research facility is not for the faint-hearted. A ‘body farm’ investigating human decomposition, its inhabitants are corpses in various states of decay. But when Detective Kim Stone and her tea
m discover the fresh body of a young woman, it seems a killer has discovered the perfect cover to bury their crime.

Then a second girl is attacked and left for dead, her body drugged and mouth filled with soil. It’s clear to Stone and the team that a serial killer is at work – but just how many bodies will they uncover? And who is next?

As local reporter, Tracy Frost, disappears, the stakes are raised. The past seems to hold the key to the killer’s secrets – but can Kim uncover the truth before a twisted, damaged mind claims another victim …?

Publication Date ~ 20th May 2016
Published by ~ Bookouture

My thoughts – Play Dead is the fourth book in the Kim Stone series by Angela Marsons and after each book I read I always say “this is my favourite”. To be honest though they are all blooming fantastic.

Angela Marsons has a way of writing stories that have you turning pages way into the early hours of the morning and I had this book finished in two sittings as I was totally engrossed as we are taken back to the Black Country with Kim and her team. They are sent to Westerley research centre (the body farm) where a new investigation gets under way as a fresh body is discovered.

Play Dead could be read as a stand alone book but really you would be best to read them all in order as Kim’s character evolves in each book and she is fast becoming one of my favourite protagonists, even with her flaws she’s a strong likeable character.
Angela Marsons has written another fast paced thriller that had me trying to guess who was guilty, with no luck right until the reveal. I’m not sure how she does it but this was another edge of your seat read that gave me goose bumps and took my breath away.

I cant wait for book five and highly recommend this to anyone who likes serial killer thrillers.

Thanks to Netgalley & bookouture for the copy in exchange for an honest review.

Other books in the series are Silent Scream, Evil Games & Lost Girls.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.