2016

The Girls from See Saw Lane by Sandy Taylor

Blurb – Brighton 1963. Mary Pickles and I walked along the street with our arms linked, looking in shop windows. We were best friends and together we were invincible.

Dottie and Mary forged a friendship over a bag of penny sweets when they were eight years old. They’ve shared everything together since then – the highs and lows of school, family dramas, hopes and dreams and now, at seventeen, they’re both shop girls, working at Woolworths.

As they go out in the world in pursuit of love and happiness, the simplicity of their childhood dissolves as life becomes more complicated. The heady excitement of first love will consume them both, but the pain of unintentional betrayal will test their friendship in ways neither of them could ever imagine…

A charming, heart breaking and ultimately uplifting novel which brings a bygone era vividly to life. Fans of Nadine Dorries, Mary Gibson and Pam Weaver will love The Girls from See Saw Lane. Counting Chimneys coming soon.

Publish Date ~ December 4th 2015
Published by ~ Bookouture
* Copy provided by Netgalley and Bookouture in exchange for an honest review*

My thoughts –  Oh my goodness what a cracker of a story this is.

The Girls from See Saw Lane is a wonderful tale of friendship, growing up, love, betrayal and forgiveness. Set in the 1960’s, Mary and Dottie have a beautiful friendship growing up, sharing dreams and even working in the same shop when they leave school.

I loved both characters so much, Sandy’s descriptions all the way through the book made me feel like I was walking along side Mary and Dottie. I felt the happiness, pain, anxieties, sadness and excitement both the girls felt as they went through all the trials and tribulations of being a teenager.

This is one of those books that leaves a big impact on you, it will stay with me for a long time and I feel it’s a book I could go back to and read again and again. A massive well done to Sandy Taylor on an amazing story and I can’t wait for the next.



Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s